

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 2, 2017

Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Bianxiao Cui to Receive 2018 Michael and Kate Bárány Award

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Bianxiao Cui, Associate Professor of Chemistry, Stanford University, will receive the Michael and Kate Bárány Award. Yildiz will be honored at the Society's 62nd Annual Meeting at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California on Tuesday, February 20, during the Awards Symposium. She will also give a short talk at that time.

Cui is being recognized for her innovative combination of microfluidics, optogenetics, mechanical and electrical perturbations to interrogate the movements of single proteins and membranes in neurons. The award is intended to recognize an outstanding contribution to biophysics by a person who has not achieved the rank of full professor at the time of nomination.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2018 Annual Meeting, visit www.biophysics.org.

OFFICERS

President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant
Jane Clarke
Bertrand Garcia-Moreno
Teresa Giraldez
Ruben Gonzalez, Jr.
Ruth Heidelberger
Robert Nakamoto
Arthur Palmer
Gabriela Popescu
Marina Ramirez-Alvarado
Erin Sheets

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

Joanna Swain

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Art Palmer

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich